BETTY DAVIS - Crashin' From Passion

Crashin' From Passion
vinyl LP

Condition: M / M
Label: Light In The Attic
Catalogue No: LITA 196-1
Tough collection of Funk. Released as part of the Betty Davis Archival Series No. 6. First time on vinyl. Newly remastered. Featuring Herbie Hancock, Martha Reeves, Alphonse Mouzon, Chuck Rainey, Patryce “Choc’let” Banks, Carlos Morales, and members of The Pointer Sisters. LP & CD Booklet features new liner notes by Danielle Maggio interviewing Betty, plus unseen photos and lyrics Vinyl pressed at RTI. LP housed in a gatefold jacket. In the 1970s, Betty Davis defied genre and gender by pushing her voice to extremes and embracing the erotic. She articulated a kind of pre-Punk, Funk-Blues fusion that had yet to be normalized in mainstream music – a style that few musicians have come close to replicating. As one of the first Black women to write, arrange, and produce her own albums, Betty was a visionary who disregarded industry boundaries and constraints. Raw, unapologetic and in full control, Betty paved the way for generations of future artists who said “funk you” to the music industry and social norms. In 1979, when Davis entered an L.A. studio to record her fifth and final album, she was reeling from a series of setbacks. Three years earlier, after recording her fourth album, Is It Love Or Desire, Davis was dropped from her label and the LP was subsequently shelved. In 1978, her beloved band Funk House went their separate ways. Looking for a fresh start, Davis relocated to Hollywood to focus on songwriting. Before long, British manager Simon Lait (Toni Basil), offered to fund her next project. With renewed vigor, Davis reunited with former Funk House guitarist Carlos Morales and brought together industry veterans like fusion drummer Alphonse Mouzon and session bassist Chuck Rainey. Old friends Anita and Bonnie Pointer (The Pointer Sisters) and Patryce “Choc’let” Banks joined Davis on vocals, as did Motown legend Martha Reeves. The resulting album, Crashin’ From Passion, was her most musically diverse, blending elements of reggae and calypso (“I’ve Danced Befor

Opened from new.
  • A1 Quintessence Of Hip
  • A2 She's A Woman
  • A3 No Good At Falling In Love
  • A4 Tell Me A Few Things
  • A5 I've Danced Before
  • A6 You Make Me Feel So Good
  • B1 I Need A Whole Lot Of Love
  • B2 Hangin' Out In Hollywood
  • B3 All I Do Is Think Of You
  • B4 Crashin' From Passion
  • B5 You Take Me For Granted

← Previous Product Next Product →