Out of stock

vinyl LP

Condition: VG / EX
Label: Reprise
Catalogue No: R9-6069
U.K issue of this Ellington recording featuring the inclusion of three older pieces ('Absinthe','Pyramid' and 'Eighth Veil'), the album is a cohesive, startling & vivid original 12 piece suite. Featuring musicians Johnny Hodges, Jimmy Hamilton, Paul Gonsalves, Ray Nance, Cootie Williams and Lawrence Brown are the principal soloists. The title composition 'Caline (Silk Lace)' and 'Pyramid' found their way into the band's regular performance book and perhaps the greatest composition in the suite 'Purple Gazelle' became a favorite among other musicians. This is Ellington at his best when the compositions, the orchestra and the soloists fuse into a single element that brings rich, colorful music to life. Compositionbs include 'Afro-Bossa', 'Purple Gazelle', 'Absinthe', 'Moonbow', 'Sempre Amore', 'Silk Lace', 'Tigress', 'Angu', 'Volupté', 'Bonga', 'Pyramid' & 'Eighth Veil'.
  • A1 Afro-Bossa
  • A2 Purple Gazelle
  • A3 Absinthe
  • A4 Moonbow
  • A5 Sempre Amore
  • A6 Silk Lace
  • B1 Tigress
  • B2 Angu
  • B3 Volupte
  • B4 Bonga
  • B5 Pyramid
  • B6 Eighth Veil