LARGE PLANTS - The Carrier
Out of stock

The Carrier
vinyl LP

Condition: EX / EX
Label: Ghost Box
Catalogue No: GBX041 LP
Large Plants started as a solo project for Jack Sharp, the singer and guitarist for Wolf People. It was spurred on by a writing frenzy during the lockdown of 2020 when Sharp played and recorded all the parts for what would become the debut single, La Isla Bonita and the first album The Carrier. In summer of 2021 the tracks were mixed by songwriter Chris Cohen (formerly of Deerhoof and Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti). Large Plants’ songs are immediate, heavy psychedelic rock belters filtered through a haze of analogue tape flutter. Sharp’s voice has an eerily distant and delicate tone that lends a strong folk sensibility to the album; like the scent of winter mornings and fresh soil mixed with the whiff of petrol. Though the songs are generally three-minute gems, they are lyrically more like ancient ballads; peopled with tragic youths, witches, lovelorn troubadours and femmes fatales.
  • A1 The Carrier
  • A2 No Difference
  • A3 Don't Let Me Let You Down
  • A4 Never Seen
  • A5 How Far
  • B1 Wreckers
  • B2 Hold Onto
  • B3 I Lie Awake
  • B4 Marceline
  • B5 The Witch