INSTANT FUNK - The Stars Of Salsoul

The Stars Of Salsoul
vinyl 2LP (new stock)

Condition: M / M
Label: Salsoul
Catalogue No: SALSBMG13LP
(18/18) Philly's Instant Funk are one of Salsoul's most well-known and respected groups. Appearing on the legendary TSOP label in 1976 the outfit was renowned for their ultra-tight musicianship and for backing Disco icon Bunny Sigler as his group. The late 1970's saw them sign to NYC's Salsoul label and this is the point where this compilation comes to life. 'I got my mind made up' was the groups opening shot on Salsoul and was a huge hit for them, helped in part by a super long, stripped back and funked out remix by Paradise Garage jock Larry Levan. This track and a whole host of others feature on this amazing compilation and snapshot of one of Disco's toughest rhythm sections, boasting all their hits and some stellar mixes from Levan, Tom Moulton, John Morales, Francois Kevorkian, Shep Pettibone and more! This whole selection features the mixes in their 12" glory, unedited, end to end, as intended.
  • A1 I Got My Mind Made Up (Larry Levan 12" Mix)
  • A2 No Stoppin' That Rockin' (Tom Moulton 12" Mix)
  • B1 Slap Slap Lickety Lap (Larry Levan Album Mix)
  • B2 Why Don't You Think About Me (Francois Kevorkian 12" Mix)
  • C1 Bodyshine (Larry Levan Remix)
  • C2 (Just Because) You'll Be Mine (A Shep Pettibone Mix)
  • D1 No Stoppin' That Rockin' (John Morales M&M 12" Mix)
  • D2 Everybody (Larry Levan 12" Mix)