LITTLE ANN - Detroit's Secret Soul
Out of stock

Detroit's Secret Soul
vinyl LP (new stock)

Condition: M / M
Label: Kent
Catalogue No: KENT518
Once Ace Records acquired Dave Hamilton’s Detroit studio tapes, through the auspices of researcher Richard Gilbert, more previously unheard gems came to light and eventually there were found to be nine songs recorded in 1967 and 1968 with Dave and his partner Darrell Goolsby. The dancers ‘Who Are You Trying To Fool’, ‘Sweep It Out In The Shed’ and ‘Lean Lanky Daddy’, proved to be perfect additions for the Northern Soul dance scene, while ‘I Gotta Have You’ and ‘Possession’ wowed the funk crowd, and the beauty of ‘Deep Shadows’ got through to every type of Soul fan. Since then more tape research has revealed a noticeably alternate take of ‘Who Are You Trying To Fool’, ‘I Gotta Have You’ with added backing vocals, and a cleaner version of ‘What Should I Do’. For this LP we were able to access Ann’s only other known recordings, which she cut under her real name of Ann Bridgeforth in Canada in 1972 and 1973.
  • A1 What Should I Do (Alt Take)
  • A2 Lean Lanky Daddy
  • A3 Sweep It Out In The Shed
  • A4 Who Are You Trying To Fool (Alt Take)
  • A5 I Got To Have You (Alt Take)
  • A6 The Smile On Your Face
  • A7 Deep Shadows
  • B1 One Way Street (Alt Version)
  • B2 Possession
  • B3 Stand Together
  • B4 I'm Doin' All Right
  • B5 Lost A Lover (Need A Friend)
  • B6 That's All I Want From You