ANDREW HILL - Passing Ships

Passing Ships
CD album

Condition: NM / NM
Label: Blue Note
Catalogue No: 7243 5 93871 2 3
Blue Note Connoisseur Series issue from 2003. The band Hill employed on this previously unreleased 1969 session is a nonet, featuring Woody Shaw and Dizzy Reece on trumpets, Joe Farrell on reeds, woodwinds, and English horn, Howard Johnson on tuba and bass clarinet, Ron Carter on bass, Lenny White (on only his second recording date) playing drums, trombonist Julian Priester, and French horn player Bob Northern. " The music here is ambitious. Hill's scoring for one reed, two trumpets, and low brass is remarkable for the time. In fact, it isn't until his big-band album of 2002 that he ever ventured into these waters again."
  • 1 Sideways
  • 2 Passing Ships
  • 3 Plantation Bag
  • 4 Noon Tide
  • 5 The Brown Queen
  • 6 Cascade
  • 7 Yesterday's Tomorrow

← Previous Product Next Product →